#SinceWeBeingHonest + SLPeepEcho


I noticed #SinceWeBeingHonest is trending today on Twitter.  Beyond the use of auxiliary “be”, I find it interesting so many people were compelled to share something honestly.

I think I will join the #SinceWeBeingHonest bandwagon with some #SLPeep truthiness:

#SinceWeBeingHonest SLP grad school is not as easy or as difficult as I imagined

  • I imagined I would be neck-deep in books 24/7 and speaking SLP jargon like a crazy person
  • Turns out I’m only knee-deep in books/internet 3 hours a day 4 days a week. With a job, extras, and friends on the side to keep it manageable
#SinceWeBeingHonest My graduate courses are intense yet interesting…
  • Dysphagia, Aural Rehabilitation, Voice Disorders, Language and Literacy —so much to learn and know for life.
  • You can really do some damage if you don’t know what your are doing and how all this info works on real-life patients
  • It really was important to know all the muscles of the head, neck and face #duh
#SinceWeBeingHonest I am glad I chose to be a Speech-Language Pathologist
  • I thought I was going to be a Home Economics teacher or an Elementary school teacher…this is so much more challenging and exciting
#SinceWeBeingHonest The University of West Georgia’s Speech-Language Pathology Graduate Program is awesome
  • I thought since I went here for Undergrad it would look bad to go here for Grad too
  • I regret nothing.
  • I’m learning and getting experience. Doesn’t matter where I am, I’m getting what I need and hope to be a great SLP
Spring Break is coming to an end…but that means I’m a few weeks/month closer to visiting Alaska (May 2!!!)
About SLP_Echo

I am a Speech-Language Pathologist completing my Clinical Fellowship in Alaska.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in SLPeep and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hello,
    My name is Amanda and I was just accepted to the UWG graduate SLP program for Fall 2012. I was hoping to possibly talk with you about the program and the area! I am from California and know little about what is around there! Look forward to hearing from you!

    Thanks,
    Amanda

  2. It’s awesome that you have this space to share your thoughts on the program. I’m sure plenty of people will find you a great resource K!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,986 other followers

