Deciding to blog about SLP


I love to type my thoughts out. I started blogging in 2011 and it wasn’t about who would read it. It was that I had these opinions and ideas that no one else was saying or sharing. Nobody wanted to address the lack of real information in the SLP  graduate school world. It was all coming from one place – ASHA. While they certainly have their place and roll, that is by no means enough. Myself, Hanna B. SLP, and OliviaSLP were the only SLP students blogging.

People are searching, grasping for lines of truth from others who experience the same exasperation. I was fed up with not finding, and decided to share my own opinions. Who knew, 3 years later I’d have near 200,000 views and daily emails full of people wanting answers. I gladly answer each and every email, which lately, I’ve been receiving at least one every day.

I just read this question/screen shot from one of the blogs I read, and someone posed this question and then the response:

The response profoundly spoke to me in a way that I can’t describe. I never imagined people would respond the way they have. Readers contact me and comment that something I wrote or responded with in an e-mail inspired them. I often feel the exact opposite when I write a post – like I’m going to scare people away from pursuing SLP. But it seems most people find my ramblings and opinions helpful. I’ll take that.

If you’ve ever searched for answers in our field and came up empty, maybe you should start your own blog to share what you find or experience.  The first 6 months of my blog, I had less than 100 views. Don’t worry about that. The right person will read your blog and find it helpful or relatable. If it helps you, then it’s worth it.

Some inspirational quotes that always inspire me:

Writers write things to give readers something to read.” – Finding Forester

Whoopi Goldberg in Sister Act 2 quoted a poet, Rainer Rilke, saying:

“I went to my mother who gave me this book called Letters To A Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke…A fellow used to write to him and say: I want to be a writer, please read my stuff. And Rilke says to this guy, don’t ask me about being a writer. If when you wake up in the morning you can think of nothing but writing, then you’re a writer. 

 

I happily call myself a writer. Are you?

slpbloggers

 

About SLP_Echo

I am a Speech-Language Pathologist completing my Clinical Fellowship in Alaska.

Posted on April 30, 2014, in #slp2b and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,678 other followers

