#slp2b

New Beginnings


I live in Alaska.

There have been many obstacles since I decided to move to Alaska and work as a Speech-Language Pathologist. Where would I work? Where would I live? How would I get around? Could I make it with the long days of sunlight and long days of darkness? How expensive is it to move? The questions seemed more overwhelming than the dream of living in Alaska.

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” – Matthew 6:34

Here I sit, in my cozy Alaskan cabin: A car in my driveway, food in the fridge, a contract in hand, and nothing but blue skies. I have no idea what my first year as an SLP-CF in AK will be like, but I have come this far so I will continue to trust, look forward, and know this is exactly where I am supposed to be.

I won’t be changing my blog to add any Alaska-related content, other than what relates to my practice as an SLP. However, if you would like to follow my personal journey to becoming an Alaskan woman, feel free to add me on Google Plus. I am treating that account like a blog all about my adventures, successes, and everyday dealings while I find my way in Alaska.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “New Beginnings”

  1. This is totally awesome! One of my former grad students went to Alaska for a temp job and ended up staying for over a year. When I retire, I’ve thought about going there for a short time (not winter). Keep us posted on your adventures!

  2. Really excited to hear about your journey,Katie! Following you on Google+ 🙂 It’s great how things just fall together, isn’t it?

  3. Hi – beautiful photos!

    By an amazing coincidence, the last new internet friend I “met” is also in Alaska – if you are in the same area, check out “Ukulele Russ”. Mad as a bag of cats and his band looks great fun! http://www.ukuleleruss.com/ He is not on Twitter but he has got a blog and is on Facebook and YouTube.

    (Afraid that I could not get the Google+ thingie to work to let me send you a message there.)

    Best wishes and good luck in Ultima Thule USA 🙂

    LizP X

  4. How amazing! I will be following your experiences and think that what you are doing is quite inspiring! I just started blogging about my experiences being an SLP student lovelylanguage.wordpress.com and hope that you will follow me! Love the pictures!

  5. Hey Katie, I found your blog through Pinterest. I’m a CF at a private practice in Anchorage. I’m from Fairbanks, but Anchorage and Mat-Su are all new to me. Email me if you want! If would be fun to connect with another CF in the area.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.