#slp2b, SLPeep

The Clinical Fellowship Experience


Now that I’ve been living in Alaska for a month, I’m gearing up to start work as a Clinical Fellow. I’ve got my trapper keeper, #2 pencils, and an A+ attitude. That’s all you need for a first day, right? I’m going to go with yes. This “Clinical Fellowship” used to be termed “Clinical Fellowship Year” because it would take a year, now the minimum is 36 weeks or 9 months. Basically you are pregnant with newness and experiencing anxiety, cravings for expensive pens, and wondering what to do with all this money you now make. Maybe it should be called “Clinical Fellowship Pregnancy” (sorry gentleman) or “The Fellowship of  Clinicians” (see what I did there?!) or “‘What the heck am I doing?!’ Club”. Just a suggestion, ASHA. Take note.

In addition to having a caseload of clients, IEPs to read, and 50+ kids to get to know, I have to think about the paperwork and mentor-mentee relationship. My supervisor is already amazing; she could take your CF mentor in a fight. That’s what you want when you are in the market for a CF. How much support will I have and what’s my mentor’s fighting stats. She tells me the paperwork isn’t going to be a big issue, and that I should just focus on getting my feet set before we dwell on the minute details of forms. It’s good advice. We have 9 months to get it worked out. But, I’m still keeping myself in check for the info ASHA will be asking for come next spring; here are some places to check into if you are in the SLP-CF market:

I went to my school where I will be working this year, put decorations up, settled in, and felt like a real boss. Then felt immediately overwhelmed as I opened the client files cabinet drawer. Overwhelmed with anxiety, excitement, happiness, and most of all pure joy. The experience of SLP graduate school culminated in that moment, and a new status of Speech-Language Pathologist washed over me. I let that settle in, simmer. I couldn’t be more prepared. I had great supervisors, professors, classmates, Twitter-friends, , and supportive network to help get me here. Not to mention personal sacrifice, overworked weekends, and commitments. I’ve arrived at a new beginning. A new experience. A Clinical Fellowship Experience.

I think it’s only appropriate to be exceedingly excited. Overjoyed. Ecstatic. Joyful.

If you are pursuing a career in Speech-Language Pathology – keep going. If you have dreams to drop everything and take the SLP Plunge – do it. I am your biggest fan. And if you are ever in Alaska, look me up!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “The Clinical Fellowship Experience”

  1. Enjoy your new experience! And please, continue to post about your successes and challenges during your CF. It’s great to see someone’s POV about the CF experience since I will be there this time next year. 🙂

  2. I agree with the above comment. Great to hear about CF experiences in a candid way! I am finishing up my last year in grad school and about to start my internship. I was just wondering how you went about finding your mentor for your CF? any advice on how to do this?

    1. Jessica, find a school/employer/contract company that cares about CF’s and their experience. When a place is desperate for an SLP that ensuring you have a quality mentor isn’t at the top of the list. Contact places early (now), and contact HR peeps soon after applying to let them know you are interested.

  3. I have finished my BS in speech and hearing in India. i am trying hard to find internship to get my certification as SLP aid. I live in Atlanta,Georgia. Is there some place i can apply for internship? i tried applying for internships at local clinical setups and have been rejected because they do not take interns. Plz help. i am in need of job badly.

  4. Do you know what most fellowships pay? I am starting grad school this Spring and want to know how much I am going to have to borrow. I would do my CF in a medical setting. I saw on google figures from 30k to 60k, but 60k seems a little too hopeful.
    Thanks

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.