#slp2b

Applying to Graduate School for Speech-Language Pathology


Rising Seniors in Speech-Language Pathology and/or Communication Sciences and Disorders programs think of one thing during the summer: Where will I apply for Grad School?  At least that’s how it was for me. Questions begin forming as the impending nature of applications loom…

How much are application fees? Do they have an out-of-state tuition waiver for Audiology? Is my GRE score high enough? Will my GPA be good enough? How much is tuition? What are the professors like in each program? Is the program more medical or education based? Does the Master’s program require a thesis and/or completion test?

I wanted to share ideas and inspiration for those applying to graduate school and about to start a graduate program.

The presentation, What to Expect When You Are Expecting…To Graduate, covers the following topics:

  • The GRE
  • Applying to Graduate School – including a chart to keep track of applications to graduate school
  • Factors to Consider When choosing SLP/AuD Graduate Schools
  • Final Decisions
  • Summer after Your Junior Year – What to Do
  • Plan B – What if I don’t get in to graduate school?
  • New SLP Graduate Students – things to keep in mind
***Make sure when to download the  full PowerPoint,  look at the “Notes” section under each slide for more detailed information.**

Feel free to download and check-out the links and information. Some links to my school’s site, however many universities have similar information you can find for your own applications.

I had positive feedback from my peers and hope this can help others who happen to have similar questions and concerns.

Additional Resources: 

Successful Strategies for Applying to Graduate School from the University of Wisconsin – Madison

ASHAs Academic Programs site

14 thoughts on “Applying to Graduate School for Speech-Language Pathology”

  1. Thanks for the awesome ppt download! Just a few questions for you:
    – Did you hold a NSSLHA office in undergrad?
    – How much shadowing experience did you have?
    – Having applied and been accepted to grad school, can you think of anything you regret not doing and would have if you had known about it?
    – Also, is there anything you did that you highly recommend prospective grad students to do also?
    Haha, I guess that’s more than a few, but if you have the time during your extremely busy grad schedule, I would appreciate your insight/experience related to any of the above questions!

    1. I welcome the questions! 🙂

      – I was an undergraduate representative in undergrad and now president of my NSSLHA
      – I didn’t have much shadowing experience of SLPs; but I worked at an afterschool care program for 5 years and worked for Disability Services on-campus where I worked one-on-one with students
      -Regrets?? If I had known about the Associates degrees in certain states for SLPA or physical therapy assistant programs, I would have done those for the experience and hands-on work with those instead of just getting my Bachelor’s right away. \
      -Recommendations? Contact disability services on your campus. I have started a mentor program through my job. Ask if they have students with severe disabilities that could use ‘extra help’ – you may have to volunteer, but it is WORTH the recommendation and experience. 🙂

      Hope that helps!

  2. Awesome. Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions and thanks for the recommendations!

  3. Hey there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  4. That is the precise blog for anybody who desires to find out about this topic. You understand a lot its almost arduous to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You positively put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply nice!

  5. I am confused I know I need to take the GRE for graduate school is this the same thing as the Praxis?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.