#slp2b

A follow up to “Craft a Stand-Out Application”


In the January 2014 publication of the ASHA Leader, there was  a post entitled “Student’s Say: Craft a Stand-Out Application” As far as my Google search of “ASHA + SLP grad school applications” took me, this is one of the first of it’s kind for ASHA. I’ve been blogging about these same issues for over 2 years. Giving similar hints, tips, and advice the author, Carol Polovoy, offered up.

What I particularly appreciate about this post is that she was able to interview and get recent statistics from SLP grad schools. For instance,   she reported “Montclair (N.J.) State University, for example, received 541 speech-language pathology program applications and accepted 38 (7 percent) for the 2011–2012 year.” 7%!!!!??? Woah. That’s depressing. But then she followed with another recent statistic, saying  “The University of Pittsburgh…received 339 applications for 2011– 2012, and offered admission to 94 (27.7 percent).” 27.7% is WAY better than 7%.

I’ve never claimed to be an expert, but in 2012 I wrote a post on the chances of getting admitted into an SLP graduate school. I collected my numbers from the Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CAPCSD). I’ve also written several other posts – here and here and here and here  – about the application process. It’s now 2014. The process has only gotten tougher and more competitive. People are interested in the field of Speech-Language Pathology. Applicants are frustrated, tired, and worn down by the process of applying and the potential rejection.

ASHA, I appreciate the post and the thoroughness the author went through to get the information. Now…what’s next? Are there any more posts planned on this topic? Because there are so many questions from students. They need answers, and not from me. My blog is only popular because these issues aren’t being addressed elsewhere. I hope ASHA has more posts like this.. real, heart felt, and research based.

I can’t be the only one blabbering on about the SLP grad school trenches. Let’s see what happens.

2 thoughts on “A follow up to “Craft a Stand-Out Application””

  1. Hi Katie,
    Thank you for such an informative blog. 🙂 Do you know if graduate schools weigh undergrad GPA over your GPA from your post bacc? I’ll be taking my postbacc next year, but my undergrad GPA is lower than average from the poor grade I got from my previous major. My major GPA is high. Overall, not so much.. Would this hold me back?

  2. Katie, love the blog, as always. I think there’s a good chance ASHA picked up the story from your blog! Thanks for being so passionate about seeing more slp2bs fulfill their dream. Hopefully, I’ll see you back in AK one day. I plan to move back there after school, that is if I get in!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.